Artist Research- Ruslan Khasanov

11

For my research I am looking at a range of different artists who create colourful images and patterns using unique resources. This will help me and inspire me since my photo book will be created using something different. Since I want my book to be bright, colourful and artistic, I found a few artists whose work caught my eye. One person in particular was Russian graphic designer Ruslan Khasanov, who has created unique and intriguing work using just ink, oil and soap.

Born in 1987 (Khasanov, 2016), Khasanov is most known for his experimental work in liquid typography. His work is made using all different simple resources including, ink, water and paper and he creates a range of different visual art such as videos, typography, photography and digital art.

84b3c68b062d924dcd2efa573954aa87

43019287c8785b9795176f246fe33aa5His 2013 project, “Pacific Light”, is an experimental video where he shows how the three materials interact and mix around in different ways. He was inspired to create the work when he was cooking with oil and soy sauce and saw the strange ways the liquids moved around (Jobson, 2015).

Khasanov has since created another video,”Odyssey”, in 2015 where he added glitter to the mix.

ruslan-3-1024x576ruslan-4

When I first came across these images on Pinterest, they reminded me of the patterns that are made using a bath bomb in water. Once I used Google to find out more about the artist, I realised how they were actually made using just ink, oil and soap. I found it really interesting how such unusual and eye-catching patterns can be made using those three things. Khasanov’s work has really inspired me to go froward with my project idea and create the book.

ruslan-5

Ruslan Khasanov has created a whole range of distinctive art work which can be found on his website and he also has an Instagram profile dedicated to showing his work. His has a very colourful theme and a lot of paint and ink is involved in creating it and making his images stand out. My favourite piece of work that I have seen from him is “Odyssey” since it is similar to the art/photography I plan to produce. I like how the colours and glitter swirl and create different brightly coloured patterns. I think the work of Khasanov is very unique and that is what I want mine to be.


References:

Jobson, C. (2015). Odyssey: Otherworldly Macro Footage of Ink, Oil and Soap Shot by Ruslan Khasanov. [online] Colossal. Available at: http://www.thisiscolossal.com/2015/05/odyssey-ruslan-khasanov/ [Accessed 14 Apr. 2016].

Khasanov, R. (2016). Rus Khasanov. [online] Ruskhasanov.com. Available at: http://www.ruskhasanov.com/ [Accessed 14 Apr. 2016].

Leave a comment